Report on Climate of Fear Among Asian-Origin Scientists and Researchers Published in Prestigious Peer-Reviewed Journal

Asian American Scholar Forum Logo


Media Contact: Mary Tablante,

Washington, DC– Asian American Scholar Forum (AASF) is pleased to announce that the groundbreaking report, “Caught in the Crossfire: Fears of Chinese–American Scientists,” has been published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS). The report authors are AASF Data & Research Committee Chairs Yu Xie and Xihong Lin, along with Ju Li, Qian He, and Junming Huang. PNAS is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). The NAS is a private, nonprofit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. 

The report sheds light on the widespread fear experienced by scientists of Chinese descent in the United States during the course of their routine research and academic activities. Failing to alleviate these concerns may result in significant loss of talent, hampering America’s scientific progress and potentially losing ground to global competitors. By cultivating an environment that is inclusive, welcoming, and supportive to all scientists, regardless of their background, the United States can both retain and attract scientific talent, ensuring its continued leadership in science and technology on a global scale.

Read the report in PNAS here and the original press release from the report’s initial release here.


Asian American Scholar Forum (AASF) is a national non-profit that promotes academic belonging, openness, freedom, and equality for all. In response to heightened anti-Asian sentiments and profiling in the U.S., AASF has been a leading national voice fighting for the rights of Asian American and immigrant scientists, researchers, and scholars. AASF membership includes members from the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Science and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, in addition to past and current university presidents, provost, vice provosts, deans, associate deans and past and current department chairs.